Wheel Extenders

Ask Questions and Offer Advice Related to the Cessna 120 & 140 Type

Moderators: 6643, 6183, V529

Forum rules
You must be a member of the Cessna 120-140 Association in order to post new topics, reply to existing topics, or search for information on this forum. Use the "Join" link in the red menu bar.
Name: Drew
Aircraft Type:
Occupation-Interests: Construction Consultant
RAF - CT State Liaison (theRAF.org)

Wheel Extenders

Post by 8349 »

Relative newbie here - just got my first tailwheel flight in the books today (Maulers M-5-235C - eye opening experience!). What are the pros & cons of the wheel extenders on the 120/140s? And would grass/gravel landing make one way or the other (on or off) even more important?

Thanks all!
VIP529
Name: Victor
Aircraft Type: C-120
Occupation-Interests: Work on airplanes until the cows come home..........they're still out!

Re: Wheel Extenders

Post by VIP529 »

Well, this has been a much debated topic over the years.

Several things:

1. wheel extenders were installed to keep over anxious pilots from applying the brakes too much and tipping the airplane on its nose.
2. That seldom happens, with good instruction in the years I've been involved with these airplanes I have not heard of one case of that happening, .....ie. a ."Nose over".
3. They are a cessna part, so installation and removal is a log book entry.
4. However they are rather weighty and should have a W&B change made.
5. PROS for having them installed: easier to 3 point land the aircraft, less apt for the nose to come up under heavy braking.