First Plane purchase C-140

Ask Questions and Offer Advice Related to the Cessna 120 & 140 Type

Moderators: 6643, 6183, V529

Forum rules
You must be a member of the Cessna 120-140 Association in order to post new topics, reply to existing topics, or search for information on this forum. Use the "Join" link in the red menu bar.
dragonfly
Name:
Aircraft Type:
Occupation-Interests:

First Plane purchase C-140

Post by dragonfly »

Good afternoon ladies and Gents. I am here to grasp as much knowledge as I can before my purchase. With god saying the same, I want to buy a 140 either towards the end of 2022 or in the year of 2023. I have my sights on owning a 140 with metal wings and this will be my first plane ownership. I was wanting to know what are some things I should be looking for and questions to ask that is specific to the 140 during the purchasing process. I am an A&P but have only work on Helicopters for my stint as a mechanic. Currently, I am a commercial Helicopter pilot flying Single Pilot IFR Helicopters in the EMS industry and obvious have a private pilot fixed wing license with and instrument add on. Also, have my Multi comm/inst too. Any info would be appreciated. Looking forward to joing the 120/140 community as I want to get back to the barebones of aviation flying. Tired of all these pretty screens in my face. LOL

Brody
maverick_fa
Name: Mat
Aircraft Type: One Forty 100
Occupation-Interests: Flight Instructor (Aerobatic & ASEL), Avionics, FTI

Re: First Plane purchase C-140

Post by maverick_fa »

Here is a good video showing some weakness points: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4CRxRobrTI
Mat | CSG3
dragonfly
Name:
Aircraft Type:
Occupation-Interests:

Post by dragonfly »

Thanks matt.
meloosifah
Name:
Aircraft Type:
Occupation-Interests:

Post by meloosifah »

1. Metal wings are heavy and 140’s are more fun light.
2. High time or training time - check the gear boxes for heavy landing cracks.