Parting out vs Selling?

A Place to Share Experiences and Discuss Aviation Stories

Moderators: 6643, 6183, V529

Forum rules
You must be a member of the Cessna 120-140 Association in order to post new topics, reply to existing topics, or search for information on this forum. Use the "Join" link in the red menu bar.
Name: Kurt G
Aircraft Type:
Occupation-Interests:

Parting out vs Selling?

Post by 6709 »

Hello there. I'm not doing anything radical here any time soon, but I am curious to know if anyone has parted out a perfectly good C140 instead of selling it, and how did that work out if you did? I have been maintaining my own airplane since 1991. My grandfather had it under his care since the early 70s before that. If I were to sell it to someone, and that person were to say be 150 pounds over gross, then run it out of gas and pile it in on their first solo; I would be the AP/IA that gets sued when the engine experts tear down the engine and find the seals "friable"......This makes me nervous and, while I like you all, I just don't trust any of you. (Or, at least, not your lawyers).
I guess the next option would be to tear it all apart, take pictures and sell it in individual pieces, I.e., 10K in used avionics, 6K for the A model landing gear, 9K for the C90, 1K for the prop.... (You know, that kind of thing)
As I write this, one more option comes to mind. Maybe I just roll it out of the hangar, fly to the empty field behind my house, open the gascolator and toss a match. A bit like a Viking funeral of old.